My Top 5 TED talks

I don’t know if this makes me super-geeky, but one of my favourite ways to pass the time, especially when I’m looking for a bit of a pick-me-up-slash-kick-my-ass-into-gear, is to head into the black hole that is YouTube and watch a TED talk or four. 

They also make for pretty cool podcasts to listen to while driving. The nice people who curate the podcasts on my iPhone have made sure that the podcasts are suitable for audio only and you don’t need the visuals to enjoy them.

Going to a TED conference is on my ever-growing bucket list, so I was very keen to hear Carel Nolte of CN & Co give some feedback on his recent trip to the main TED event in Vancouver. 

I was amazed that Carel was the only South African in attendance at the event this year! Unless you count Elon Musk who was one of the main speakers.

I was also intrigued by the idea of TEDx events – which are independent TED-like events held all year round, all over the world, provided you have a license to host such an event. I’ve always thought that a TEDx event would make for the most awesome corporate conference! 

I have a couple of TED favourites and I thought I’d share them with you: 

  1. Liz Gilbert’s talk on creative genius. 
  2. Brené Brown on the power of vulnerability.
  3. Amanda Palmer’s Art of Asking – I’ve also blogged about her audio book
  4. Sarah Kay’s amazing poem. Oh man – Sarah Kay is just the most amazing poet – I could listen to her forever!
  5. Shonda Rhimes on saying Yes!

If you haven’t discovered TED yet… then where have you been? 

And if you have… please share your favourites, I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

