The Injury Edition

Hey everybody!

It has been about two months since I last confessed posted. Two months of exam stress! If I ever decide to try do four modules in a semester again, please feel free to smack me upside my head! It was terrible. Loads of stress, very hard to focus and I am pretty sure I will be redoing one, if not two of the modules! I’m actively trying not to think about the outcome for now. I will deal with the regret and remorse next month when the IMM release the year end results.

It’s also been about two months since I last attempted a run. The ankle issue I mentioned in my last post has now become a thing. The physiotherapist I went to see diagnosed Posterior Tibial Tendonitis – and Dr Google concurs. My symptoms tick all the boxes. The frustrating part is that there’s no quick fix. Walking and running is pretty much out the question for the foreseeable future. My current project is to find the right treatment for the issue.

I had hoped that a few weeks of resting it from exercise would sort the problem, but it’s clear now that there is no improvement. As long as I am mostly sedentary, like a normal day in the office at my computer, then the pain is limited and I am only vaguely aware of the tenderness. As soon as I get a bit more active – and by this I mean walking leisurely around a shopping mall, the pain becomes very noticeable and uncomfortable.

FOMO! 

Today was the big Soweto race. I’d registered to run the half marathon again this year and it was in my first week of training that I discovered that I really had a problem. Facebook was full of memories of last year’s race and this morning, Nick and all our running buds left home at 4 am to run the 2016 race. I stayed home to babysit and made the crew a big breakfast for after the race.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I had FOMO. Running is the first form of exercise I’ve ever really gotten into and it sucks to not be able to participate. Running is good for my body, head and soul. I want to try get into the gym thing while running is out of the question. Getting hot and sweaty at the gym gets the endorphins flowing but it doesn’t feel quite the same as pounding out a 5k on the roads. I guess gym will cover the head and body bit. For the soul, I need to try to focus on being creative again… post a  bit more regularly here on my blog and put brush to canvas and every now and then.

So I have a project plan and a plan… now to just keep with it!

Till next time friends!

xxx

Image result for runner injury images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Injury Edition

Leave a Reply

