Our (tog) bag of tricks

Yesterday morning I got back from a long run with a couple of friends from our club, tossed my stuff on the dining room table, and went straight into the kitchen for food and coffee and then upstairs to soak my tired legs and feet in a hot bath. Two things to note here:

  1. Our big square 8 seater dining room table is a dumping ground for EVERYTHING in our house. Keys, wallets, handbags, homework assignments, dirty dishes that didn’t make it as far as the kitchen, running paraphernalia, a sport kit bag, unopened post (seriously, who sends mail anymore?) One day, when I am big, I am going to be super organised. For now… if you can’t find it, check on the dining room table first!
  2. I love our double storey house except for after a run. I actually had to momentarily pause and psyche myself for the stairs after my run! Knees, feet and ankles… ouch!

When I hobbled back downstairs to face the day, I caught sight of the mess I’d left on the table…

Running mess 1

The route map, cap, water bottle and jacket were all dumped, unceremoniously, on the table as I went in search of food and caffeine! Just outside the frame of this picture, is the tog bag that Nick and I keep packed for our sessions at RWFL and any races we participate in. In the tog bag is the following:

Running mess 2

From the back, and left to right:

  • My Nike visor… I love this cap because it’s soft, light, keeps hair, sun and rain out of my face and washes in the washing machine beautifully.
  • Mutual & Federal branded tog bag – yay for corporate gifts!
  • Handy triangular shaped water bottle – perfect for gripping while you run. Just don’t use cold water from the fridge when you head out for a midwinter morning run… you WILL freeze your fingers off!
  • Beanie… this was actually a remnant from our Knysna run. We bought cheapy beanies which we figured we would donate during the run. I landed up wearing my buff on my head and donating that instead.
  • Buff… I do love the versatility of these little scraps of fabric
  • Moov – because my muscles and joints need all the help they can get!
  • Pen – for completing the info on race numbers
  • Reflective arm band – for running in the dark – which happens a lot in winter!
  • Reflective Staff bib for RWFL sessions – Nick and I are “road leaders” at our branch, thus the “staff” thing
  • Boost energy gel – I have never used, or even tasted an energy gel – these were samples given in a goodie bag at one of the races and I’ve always just kept it in the bag – just-in-case. Nick uses the gels, but favours GU gel.
  • Waist pouch with cash – My waist pouch is one of the most important items in my kit. I use it for carrying my phone, tissues, lip ice, cash… can’t be out on the road without it!
  • Loobit – because things chafe. ‘Nuff said!
  • GU Brew electrolyte tablets – I sometimes use this for long runs. This particular one is low in sugar, which is ideal for my low carb eating plan. It tastes pretty nasty though!
  • Head lamp – same as the reflective arm band – although a pain in the ass to wear when running so it stays in the bag most of the time. I should really take it out the bag.
  • Clip on light – these were cute little goodies given out at the end of one of the races we did. I particularly like it because it clips onto shoes or shirt or my waist pouch and is not uncomfortable to wear, like the aforementioned headlamp is.
  • Gloves – cheap and nasty – but a life saver in winter!
  • Lip-ice – must apply before I run. And I love this particular tube because it doesn’t make my lips feel icky. But it’s a non branded tube I picked up at a corporate gig I attended, so I probably won’t be able to replace, lol!
  • Sunglasses – I never wear these when actually running because they just steam up… I should probably just take them out.

Not in this photo but often lying around:

  • Some very handy little sample sachets of wet wipes… because, you know.
  • Tissues, because noses run.
  • My Tom Tom running watch.

Whoever said all you need to run is a good pair of shoes lied!!!

Do you have a similar bag lying around? What is in yours?

Leave a Reply

