I did it!

We did it.

The last line in the play Birth is “I did it”… And I am so please to say that I did!

We finished off this particular chapter of the project last night with a lovely dinner for the cast and crew. An amazing evening of nonstop chatter, laughter and bonding.

What an amazing experience being part of BOLD has been. If you had told me 5 years ago that I would be act (in a play about childbirth, no less) I would have laughed at you, but that is exactly what I did. And it was scary, a little stressful but more than that, so much fun and so empowering!

We laughed so much as the weeks went on… at more than one rehearsal, I think oI gave our director much to worry about as I collapsed in fits of giggles. When it came down to the actual performances, we all held it together and the audience responded so positively.

And the end results?

After all the expenses of the production were deducted, we managed to donate over R20000 to the improvement of maternity care. We had long, lively discussions with birth professionals and the public about our cause, and I am positive we left people with much to think about. We managed to get our voices heard on Jozi’s biggest news station.

On a personal note, I think I can speak for all of the women involved when I say we grew as people as a result of this. Friendships were cemented. At our dinner last night, comments were made over and over again about how being involved in BOLD sparked new energy, creativity, confidence and courage. As a person who has lots of ideas but doesnt always see the ideas through, I found a huge amount of satisfaction in seeing a project through from start to finish.

Thank you to my BOLD girls for sharing this experience with me.

xxx

Leave a Reply

